Candida Höfer

Epic Gaze

MESSAGE

Candida Höfer is a German contemporary conceptual photographer, renowned for her pioneering work in large-scale colour photography and her ability to capture images of cultural and historical architecture. Höfer has been awarded various accolades, such as the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Woman Art Award of the State of North-Rhine Westphalia, the Cross of Merit First Class of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Cologne Fine Art Prize, and the Outstanding Contribution to Photography of Sony World Photography Awards. Her works have been exhibited in galleries and museums worldwide.

Höfer is renowned for her nearly impeccable photographic techniques and precise approach to composition. Her photographs feature horizontal framing and often employ a balanced composition that showcase the stunning architectural interiors of public spaces with gorgeous colours and rich details. Her photos are particularly well-known for their depiction of empty spaces.

The exhibition, entitled Epic Gaze, showcases Höfer’s two-decade-long oeuvre, which includes some new works that have never been displayed before. Her works feature the interiors of galleries, museums, theatres, libraries and some of the historical palaces and mansions worldwide. The images deeply inspire the viewers to contemplate once again these magnificent public cultural spaces and the evolution of human civilisation. They also allow viewers to explore the relationship between space and humans, and the meaning behind it all.

Macao has long been a hub of Chinese and Western cultures, boasting a rich cultural heritage and a wealth of historical buildings. The Cultural Affairs Bureau is delighted to invite Candida Höfer to hold her first exhibition in the city, showcasing extraordinary photographic works on a variety of themes to broaden viewers’ horizons of art of photography. The exhibition aims to deepen understanding among viewers of different civilisations and cultivate their appreciation of architectural art, while it proactively promotes cross-cultural exchange between China and the West.

On behalf of the Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao Special Administrative Region Government, I would like to express my gratitude to both Candida Höfer and to the curators of this exhibition, João Ó and Rita Machado. I wish this exhibition great success.

 

Deland, Leong Wai Man

President of the Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao Special Administrative Region Government

1st and 2nd floor, Macao Museum of Art

Opening Date:
2023/12/05 18:30
Duration:
2023/12/06 - 2024/05/19

康迪達 ‧ 赫弗

宏空之境

獻辭

康迪達.赫弗是德國當代著名觀念攝影師,也是國際上公認的大幅彩色攝影的先驅之一,尤其以拍攝與文化歷史有關的建築而聞名。曾獲德意志聯邦共和國功績勳章、國家女性藝術獎、德意志聯邦共和國一級功勳十字勳章、科隆美術獎及索尼世界攝影獎等多個獎項。作品於世界各地許多美術館、博物館展出。

赫弗以其完美的攝影技術和嚴謹的攝影方法備受推崇,她的作品以水平取景的平衡構圖拍攝,展現建築物宏大的室內公共空間、絢麗的色彩與豐富的細節,並以“空無一人”的方式呈現而聞名。

本次展覽以“宏空之境”為題,展出赫弗過往二十年最具代表性的作品以及近期未曾發表過的新作,多為世界各地的美術館、博物館、劇院、圖書館,以及具歷史性的宮殿與宅邸等的室內空間作品,將深度啟發觀眾重新思考這些恢宏的公共文化空間背後,人類文明的軌跡、空間與人的關係和意義。

澳門向來是中西文化交流的平台,也有著豐富的文化遺產和歷史建築群,文化局很榮幸能邀請到康迪達.赫弗首次在澳門舉辦其個人大展,藉著這些題材豐富、精彩至極的作品,相信不單能拓展觀眾在攝影藝術領域的國際視野,對於加深了解世界不同的文明,提高建築藝術鑒賞品位,促進中外文化交流,也具有十分積極的意義。

本人謹代表澳門特別行政區政府文化局對赫弗女士及策展人蘇約翰先生伉儷表示衷心的感謝!祝展覽圓滿成功!

 

梁惠敏

澳門特別行政區政府文化局局長

澳門藝術博物館一樓及二樓

開幕日期:
2023/12/05 18:30
展覽日期:
2023/12/06 - 2024/05/19
公開導賞服務日期:
2023/12/16 - 2024/05/19 (逢星期六、星期日及公眾假期 15:00-16:00)