Introduction

    The Macao Museum of Art (MAM) opened on 19th March, 1999. Now under the Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao Special Administrative Region Government, it offers the largest display space for arts in Macao, with a total area of 10,192 square metres in five storeys, of which more than 4,000 square metres are exhibition areas. Two theme galleries are located on the 4th floor, with large display cases for artefacts and Chinese calligraphy and paintings; three theme galleries are on the 3rd floor, mainly showing collections of MAM and local artworks; on the 2nd floor, a large special gallery is dedicated to modern and contemporary western works of art. On the 1st floor there is a lobby exhibition space, the reception, the Museum Shop, the Palace Museum Cultural and Creative Store and an auditorium. On the ground floor is a functional area for artistic activities and education promotion workshops. Noteworthily, the Museum Shop sells MAM publications as well as creative and cultural products, whilst the Palace Museum Creative and Cultural Store is the first of its kind outside China, offering various cultural and creative products from the famous museum in Beijing.

    With most of its collection inherited from the former Luís de Camões Museum under the former Municipal Council of Macao, through multiple channels such as exhibitions, commissions, purchases and donations, the Macao Museum of Art has collected more than 16,000 items, ranging from the Chinese calligraphy and paintings, historical pictures, ceramics to photography, modern and contemporary art, performance art, archives and documents. Important treasures include ‘Peacock, Pine and Bamboo and Eagles’ by Ming dynasty court painter Lin Liang, as well as works in the Chinese paintings and calligraphy collection by Guangdong master artists Zhang Mu, Li Jian, Su Liupeng and Ju Lian from Ming and Qing dynasties. The category of Historical Pictures collection features works by 19th century well-known English painter George Chinnery, French painter Auguste Borget, English artist Dr. Thomas Watson, as well as António Baptista and Lamqua. In the category of ceramics, the Shiwan Ceramics collection includes works by noted ceramists Huang Bing, Chen Weiyan, Pan Yushu and Liu Chuan, is considered one of the best of its kind in the world. MAM also collects streetscape watercolours created by Russian architect and artist George Smirnoff who resided in Macao during the Pacific War, showing the city’s relatively peaceful and harmonious side in the turbulent 1940s.

    Committed to promoting cultural and artistic diversity and development, the Macao Museum of Art holds varied exhibitions, lectures, forums and arts workshops in cooperation with cultural institutes at home and abroad from time to time, in a bid to allow the public to appreciate and get acquainted with modern and ancient arts of different genres from China and other countries and regions. MAM has cooperated with Palace Museum, National Museum of China, Shanghai Museum, Nanjing Museum, National Art Museum of China, Zhejiang Museum, British Museum, State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow, Louvre Museum, Centre Pompidou, etc. Since 1999, the Macao Museum of Art and Palace Museum have been co-organising large-scale exhibitions of cultural relics annually, receiving acclaim and attention from the general public.

    MAM has held more than 480 exhibitions since its opening. Major exhibitions in recent years include: Marc Chagall, Light and Colour in Southern France; Masterpieces of Russian Art from the State Tretyakov Gallery; Italian Renaissance Drawings from the British Museum; Quietness and Clarity: Works of Chen Zhifo from the Collection of the Nanjing Museum; The Long Journey: The Forbidden City and Maritime Silk Road; Wandering across the Landscape: Collection of the Macao Museum of Art; Rebirth in the Spring Breeze: Art Exhibition of He Duoling; Multi-Prismatic Mutual Views: International Invitational Exhibition of Contemporary Art; Quintessence of Imperial Kiln Porcelain of the Ming Dynasty from the Palace Museum Collection; and Wild Imagination: Contemporary Ink Art in Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao from 2000 to 2022; Fang Lijun: The Light of Dust.

     The Macao Museum of Art actively promotes the development of culture and arts in Macao, organising exhibitions of different genres featuring local artists every year. Under the name of ‘Macao, China’, MAM has participated in the International Art Exhibition of La Biennale di Venezia since 2007 and in the International Architecture Exhibition since 2014, promoting Macao culture to the world stage.

    Ever since its inception, the Macao Museum of Art has attached great importance to art education. It has been organising different kinds of activities, including guided service for exhibitions, forums, lectures, courses, workshops and concerts in gallery, making the museum an interactive learning space of diversity. Moreover, various cultural activities, such as thematic workshops and art trips, are organised regularly for members of Friends of MAM every year. At the same time, MAM has published more than 280 exhibition catalogues, collection of thesis and educational booklets, with its exquisite exhibition catalogues being the most favoured by art lovers.

    The Macao Museum of Art will continue to take the lead in arts and aesthetics, promoting the development of local art and traditional Chinese culture and showcasing world masterpieces of fine art, in order to provide a strong cultural support for the development of Macao into ‘One Centre, One Platform, One Base.’

     

    Related Tags:


    popular articles

    1
    Guided Tour & Visitor Services

    2
    2023 Little Artists

    3
    Art Without Boundaries – Children's Workshop Series (April-June, 2023)

    4
    Images of MAM’s collection and related information

    5
    Donations

    6
    New Collection

    7
    ‘Poem in Cursive Script’ by Gao Jianfu and ‘The Boat Returns Under the Rain and Wind’ by Guan Shanyue

    8
    Art Without Boundaries – Children's Workshop Series (October-December, 2022)

    9
    Art Without Boundaries – Children's Workshop Series (April-June, 2022)

    10
    Art Without Boundaries – Children's Workshop Series (April-June, 2024)

    11

    12
    Family Art Sunday: Golden Eminence Treasures from the Palace Museum and the Tashi Lhunpo Monastery

    13
    Auspicious Beginning: Spring Festival Traditions in the Forbidden City

    14
    Photos of Macao: Collection of the Macao Museum of Art

    15
    The Present of the Past: Calligraphy and Seals of Ma Guoquan

    16
    Discovering the Beauty of Empty Space –– Photography Workshop

    17
    Fifty Years at a Glance: Documenting a Half Century of the Photographic Society of Macao

    18
    Historical Pictures: Collection of the Macao Museum of Art

    19
    Reflections of The Master’s Mind - An Exhibition of Picasso’s Prints (Soft cover)

    20
    Art Without Boundaries – Children's Workshop Series (October-December, 2023)

    21
    Calligraphy by Liang Piyun

    22
    The Golden Exile - Ten Fine Dogs

    23
    Morgan O’Hara.LiveTransmission Macao : attention and drawing as time-based performance

    24
    Ghostwriting Photographs of Macao by Laurence Aberhart

基本資訊

    澳門藝術博物館於1999年3月19日開幕,現由澳門特別行政區政府文化局管轄,樓高五層,總面積10,192平方米,展覽面積逾4,000平方米,是澳門規模最大的藝術展示空間。四樓設兩個專題展覽廳,有大型展示櫃,以展出書畫藝術類為主。三樓設三個專題展覽廳,主要展出藝博館館藏及本地藝術家作品。二樓大型專題展覽廳以展出現當代及西方藝術品為主。一樓有大堂展區、接待處、藝博館禮品店、故宮文創館以及演講廳。零層用於舉辦藝術活動與教育推廣工作坊。一樓的“藝博館禮品店”出售本館出版物和文創產品,並設上海博物館禮品專櫃;“故宮文創館”則為北京故宮博物院境外首間專門店,售賣各類故宮文創產品。

    澳門藝術博物館館藏主要繼承自前澳門市政廳賈梅士博物院,其後通過展覽、委託創作、購買及捐贈等多種渠道收集,現時有館藏逾1萬6千件(套),包括:中國書畫、歷史繪畫、陶瓷、攝影、現當代藝術、行為藝術及檔案文獻等類別,重要藏品包括明代宮廷畫家林良的《孔雀松竹圖》、《鷹攫圖》,以及“中國書畫” 類別中的明清廣東名家張穆、黎簡、蘇六朋、居廉等的作品。“歷史繪畫” 類別收藏了十九世紀英國畫家喬治.錢納利、法國畫家博爾傑、英國醫生托馬斯.屈臣,以及畢士達、啉呱等名家作品。“陶瓷”類別中的“石灣陶瓷”系列收藏黃炳、陳渭巖、潘玉書及劉傳等名家作品,是世界上最好的石灣陶瓷藏品之一。藝博館另藏有俄國畫家喬治.史密羅夫於第二次世界大戰期間在澳門創作的風景水彩畫,表現了1940年代澳門相對寧靜和諧的一面。

    澳門藝術博物館致力推動文化藝術的多元發展,長期與海內外文博機構和藝術家合作,舉辦各類型展覽、講座、研討會、工作坊等,讓公眾多方面觀賞和認識古今中外不同種類的藝術;曾經合作的文博機構包括故宮博物院、中國國家博物館、上海博物館、南京博物院、中國美術館、浙江省博物館、大英博物館、俄羅斯國立特列季亞科夫畫廊、羅浮宮博物館及龐比度藝術中心等。自1999年起,澳門藝術博物館與故宮博物院每年皆舉辦大型專題文物展覽,受到各界好評與關注。

    澳門藝術博物館開幕至今舉辦超過480多個展覽,近年重要展覽有“命運的色彩──夏加爾南法時期作品展” 、“斯國斯民──俄羅斯國立特列季亞科夫畫廊精品展”、“大英博物館館藏意大利文藝復興素描展”、“翎靜芳馨——南京博物院藏陳之佛作品展”、“星槎萬里──紫禁城與海上絲綢之路”、“豫遊之道——藝博館館藏展”、“春風吹又生——何多苓藝術大展”、“多棱·互觀——國際當代藝術邀請展”、“御瓷菁華——故宮博物院藏明代御窯瓷器”、“臆象——粵港澳當代水墨藝術譜系(2000-2022)”、“塵光——方力鈞個展”等。

    澳門藝術博物館積極推動澳門文化藝術發展,每年策劃不同類型的本地藝術家作品展;自2007年起,更以“中國澳門”名義參與威尼斯國際藝術雙年展,自2014年起參與威尼斯國際建築雙年展,將澳門文化推廣到世界舞台。

    澳門藝術博物館自成立伊始就相當重視藝術教育工作,長期舉辦形式多樣的活動,包括展覽導賞、研討會、講座、課程、工作坊、音樂會等,使藝博館成為多元互動的學習空間;每年定期為“藝博館之友”會員舉辦不同類型的文化活動,如專題工作坊、藝術之旅。同時,藝博館已出版展覽圖錄、論文集、教育小冊子逾280種,印製精美的展覽圖錄廣受藝術愛好者青睞。

    澳門藝術博物館將繼續引領藝術審美,推動本地藝術發展、弘揚中國傳統文化、展示世界美術傑作,讓大眾得以博覽中外、創享無界,為澳門的 “一中心、一平台、一基地”建設提供有力的人文依托。

     

    相關標籤:


    熱門文章

    1
    2023發現小小藝術家

    2
    導賞及參觀服務

    3
    藝術零界限──系列少兒工作坊 (2023年4 - 6月)

    4
    捐贈

    5
    館藏圖像及其相關資訊

    6
    新入藏作品

    7
    高劍父的草書《雪中曉發》及關山月的《風雨歸舟》

    8
    藝術零界限──系列少兒工作坊(2022年10-12月)

    9
    周日親子藝遊──饒宗頤學藝館

    10
    “閱世遺情” 線上系列講座

    11
    2022青少年藝力計劃

    12
    “閱世遺情” 線上系列講座

    13
    “一孖”藝術小組:夢之寓言’巡校講座

    14
    藝術零界限──系列少兒工作坊(2022年4 - 6月)

    15
    粵港澳青年故宮實習計劃 2023 結業禮今(25日)在京舉行

    16

    17
    濠江影像:澳門藝術博物館館藏系列

    18
    舊學新知──馬國權書法篆刻集

    19
    賀歲迎祥——紫禁城裡的春節文化

    20
    瞬間五十年──澳門攝影學會紀實半世紀

    21
    歷史繪畫:澳門藝術博物館館藏系列

    22
    藝術零界限──系列少兒工作坊 (2023年10 - 12月)

    23
    巨匠心影──畢加索版畫 (平裝)

    24
    閱世遺情──澳門藝術博物館藏濠江風物建築繪畫展

    25
    感性軌跡:時空運轉的心靈描繪──夏慕耕素描作品

    26
    梁披雲書法集

    27
    海國波瀾──十駿犬圖

    28
    2022澳門國際博物館日系列活動